Posted in Uncategorized

Simple Solitude without Minivan Babysitting Goodness

I had a dream…. seriously, last night I did. [I confess to you as Cheddar stares me down from atop of Robin’s journal on the dresser.] It was a funny little dream. Andy Weems, the director of Crosswalk Campus Ministries, was there. He needed to meet with me for lunch. But I had all of Matt’s brothers and sisters to take care of, so they had to come with me. [Boots pops up into my lap, smelling the keyboard.] I knew James (8yr old) would get bored really quickly so I debated whether or not to go to lunch. But I did not want to let Andy down. I was at church with part of the Stauffer clan; William, James, Sarah, Steven, Cat (by default). [Cheddar approaches, feeling unloved and needing a pet.] The only ones missing out the the Stauffer clan were Ellen, Ron and Matt. I remember the tedious phone call with Andy as I attempted to figure out where we were having lunch and tried to round up the Stauffer clan. There occurred much interruption and massive confusion added with a dose of frustration. [Cheddar purrs.] The lunch location was decided to be at a friend’s house. This friend was not a mutual friend of me and Andy’s, but they knew Andy. The attraction to that destination? They had a pool. That would entertain the masses. [Boots curls up on my heated blanket.] And right as I pulled the Stauffer van into the driveway I thought to myself, “We don’t have swimming gear.” And I woke up.

You know, it can be lonely sometimes to wake up to a quiet house with only a few cats on the prowl.

But other times, I really do enjoy the solitude of me…
and my Cheddar…
and Boots.

Thank You, God, for those moments of simplicity.

Author:

Have you ever thought that the all-sufficient Savior has promised those who walk in blind faith more than our minds can ever comprehend? That the only True Savior renews our minds, even when we feel most useless toward His Kingdom work? The Lord of all dares to touch our hearts, even as we stumble to find obedience. Oh how this soul wishes we Christians would embrace His Truth! And that the world would be different because of obedient hearts. Lord, change me. Lord, change us. All for Your glory. ---------- I am a Jesus-follower, a Homemaker, a Wife of the best man EVER, a Mom of 4 wonderful girls, a missionary in Africa, a Friend, an Encourager, a Seeker of integrity who is unsatisfied with a mediocre walk in Christ, and Blessed beyond any words that I could ever express. Thanks for being interested in my little slice of the world.

Leave a Reply

